AUSTRALIAN AUTOMOTIVE MODEL BUILDERS

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Building and painting figures

3 posters

Go down

Building and painting figures Empty Building and painting figures

Post by davoski Mon 05 Sep 2016, 9:07 am

Hi guys,

Newbie here - first post. Probably not last. I am revisting this hobby after many years and am astounded by what is available on the young peoples Interweb thingy these days - all the stuff I wish I had 40 years ago!!!.

Anyway, I have ambitious plans for some dioramas, all of which require modified 1/24 or 1/35 scale figures. I will share these ideas and my approach in future posts.

As a start, I have purchased Tamiya Rally Mechanics Sets, Fujimi Driver and Mechanics sets, Tamiya Rally Driver and co-driver in 1/24, and hopefully have Tamiya Campus Friends in transit. Also numerous Tamiya, Masterbox, MiniArt and Verlinden 1/35 extraneous figures (i.e not necessarily soldiers with guns, moreso drivers and mechanics/maintenance guys).

To adjust poses I am guessing I should use a razor saw to cut joints then fill with putty and reshape with a dremel. Also planning to mix and match components as I have purchased multiples of the 1/24 kits.

To paint I propose a limited dark grey wash over the colour, then a matt clear coat and then selectively add gloss or satin clear where required. I am thinking I will standardise on Tamiya acrylics for the kits and cheap artists acrylics and pastels from the $2 shop for the scenery. I have done a TAFE airbrush course but I guess brush is better for figures.

My questions are:

- what Tamiya colour do you guys suggest for skin tone?
- Also black, brown, red, blonde and grey hair?
- 1/25 figures seem to be limited in choice and availability. Any ideas other than the above mentioned?
- any suggestions for converting short sleeves/trousers to long and vice versa? Or is it just going to be tedious?