AUSTRALIAN AUTOMOTIVE MODEL BUILDERS

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using automotive paint

+10
tjjr07
slowlylearning
Paul
zenrat
Bryce
bones
TuffXR
checkmate
Tubman
The roadrunner
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Using automotive paint Empty Using automotive paint

Post by The roadrunner Tue 07 Jul 2009, 6:48 pm

I was just wondering if you use normal car spraypaint on plastic or do i have to do something to the plastic first or do i have to use automotive plastic paint
The roadrunner
The roadrunner
I should be working on Models

Male Number of posts : 106
Registration date : 2009-06-20

Back to top Go down

Using automotive paint Empty Re: Using automotive paint

Post by Tubman Tue 07 Jul 2009, 7:55 pm

I've been using auto paint for over 25 years, mainly duplicolour rattle cans. You need to put a primer down first, I always use Holts scratch filler primer, pretty sure the Powerplus spray putty is the same thing, just got a can the other day. Put down a couple of light coats first (don't worry if it doesn't cover the first time) then a heavier coat, this is when you will see how good your body is if you have done any filling. Remember to key the body first, by this I mean give the paint something to stick to. I use 800 grit sand paper. HTH
Tubman
Tubman
AMCC ADDICT
AMCC ADDICT

Male Number of posts : 2050
Registration date : 2008-10-13

Back to top Go down

Post by The roadrunner Tue 07 Jul 2009, 8:04 pm

I used a gloss black and it went dull after it dried i think it was a supercheap brand
The roadrunner
The roadrunner

Back to top Go down

Post by Tubman Tue 07 Jul 2009, 8:52 pm