AUSTRALIAN AUTOMOTIVE MODEL BUILDERS

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Big Dazza's Workshop

+2
allan
Big Dazza
6 posters

Go down

Big Dazza's Workshop Empty Big Dazza's Workshop

Post by Big Dazza Sat 02 Apr 2016, 9:44 pm

G'day all, welcome to my workshop and my first build in many, years. After seeing the work you guys produce, I'm a bit embarrassed to show my humble efforts, but as I class myself as a beginner, I'm sure you'll go easy on me. There's a bit of a back story here so bear with me for a moment. Just before Christmas I was in our local Toyworld with my three (adult) children, the oldest bloke was checking out the RC stuff when I spotted this -
Big Dazza's Workshop Swc_wi10
I mentioned to the team that Santa had brought me the same kit for Christmas in 1975. Well imagine my surprise when he brought me another one 40 years later. I finally finished it over Easter, I don't get a lot of spare time, but I took some photo's along the way, so I'll post those up along with some comments, observations & questions. I'm not real good with these new fangled computers so it'll probably take a few days. Thanks for looking.

Dazza.
Big Dazza
Big Dazza
AMCC NEWBIE!
AMCC NEWBIE!

Male Number of posts : 14
Registration date : 2016-02-02

Back to top Go down

Big Dazza's Workshop Empty Re: Big Dazza's Workshop

Post by Big Dazza Sat 02 Apr 2016, 10:36 pm

First up, this is NOT an entry level kit. The moulds are from 1982 and the parts show it. I started with the body as I could see many hours of trimming and sanding to remove the flash, ejector pin marks and other imperfections. It was so bad, there were lines that I wasn't sure whether they were supposed to be there or not. Eventually I was happy enough with the result.
Big Dazza's Workshop Body_w10
Next up, Primer. After a good bit of research I decided to go with automotive paint, namely Holt's Duplicolour.