AUSTRALIAN AUTOMOTIVE MODEL BUILDERS

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Painting Bodies

+10
checkmate
bones
boothy
dv8v8
zenrat
Bryce
doorslammerfan
tjjr07
Mustang_67
cgmorg
14 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Painting Bodies Empty Painting Bodies

Post by cgmorg Wed 10 Mar 2010, 7:46 pm

Painting Bodies 737921
I am new at this hobby so apologies for such a basic question.

Just like to get some advise on what people suggest to use as a primer/top coat paint for a high gloss finish on car bodies.

I have only finished 2 car kits since beginning this hobby both using Citadel primers and Tamiya spray cans. However looking at the top quailty models you guys are displaying on these pages I figure that my car body finishing can be improved.

I am keen to experiment and have 3 bodies waiting to be painted so any tips will be greatly appreciated.

Painting Bodies 848297
cgmorg
cgmorg
Glue Sniffer
Glue Sniffer

Male Number of posts : 70
Registration date : 2010-03-07

Back to top Go down

Painting Bodies Empty Re: Painting Bodies

Post by Mustang_67 Wed 10 Mar 2010, 8:35 pm

I put a few coats of clear, and then some wax on my bodies Painting Bodies Icon_biggrin Im not happy with the amount of shine i'm getting, or lack of Laughing
Mustang_67
Mustang_67
I Love this place
I Love this place

Male Number of posts : 918
Registration date : 2009-12-14

Back to top Go down

Post by cgmorg Wed 10 Mar 2010, 9:29 pm

Mustang_67 wrote:I put a few coats of clear, and then some wax on my bodies Painting Bodies Icon_biggrin Im not happy with the amount of shine i'm getting, or lack of Laughing

Thanks for info. I am a bit new at this so could you tell me what is "clear" . Is it a Tamiya product or some sort of varnish? Do you airbrish it on?

Painting Bodies 848297
cgmorg
cgmorg
Glue Sniffer
Glue Sniffer

Back to top Go down

Post by tjjr07 Wed 10 Mar 2010, 9:52 pm